Big Island · HAWAII · nursing · travel · Uncategorized

Aloha!

I CANT BELIEVE I GET TO LIVE IN HAWAII FOR 3 MONTHS. Like I can’t believe I get to say that. I never would’ve imagined a year ago, that I would be living on the beautiful islands of Hawaii. I will be spending 3 months on the big island! That’s the beauty of travel nursing, the places you get to go are random and they can be so beautiful. Honestly, I had no idea how many islands make up Hawaii. I always just figured Honolulu which I’m sure a lot of people do.

The license: The biggest pain with nursing I feel like is having to get so many different license for a state. Thankfully since I started in Arkansas, most licenses are compact but Hawaii is not one of them. The good thing about Hawaii is that its a walk through state. I had to get fingerprinted, nursys information sent over by my recruiter, and fill out like 4 pages of paperwork  but other than that, I just paid them $300 or something dollars and I got my temp license there and then. The only place you can get your Hawaii license is in Honolulu so if you work on a different island, you’ll have to make two flights.

Big Island: one thing that I’ve learned about some hospitals is that they have cottages that they rent out and the hospital that I’m working at happens to be one of those hospitals. $250 a month in Hawaii is basically like striking gold. Keep in mind that is a private room and shared living space and not in the best location by the beach but I’m the kind of person that doesn’t really stay at home either. My mindset is imagine all the activities I can do with all the extra money! I recently got a gopro Hero 5 session so i’m so pumped about all the pictures I’m going to get underwater and adventuring!

 

Leave a Reply

